What People have to say…

Dane Zeller

Griff, thanks for speaking at the Professional Club of Kansas City. We enjoyed your knowledge, style and the great discussion that followed.
2016-11-07T17:21:36+00:00

Dane Zeller

We enjoyed your knowledge, style and the great discussion that followed.

Hannah Jane Chambers

Roland Griffith’s story will inspire you to break free of your doubt, to tackle and overcome what’s weighing you down. You will gain extraordinary insight into the tenacity of our spiritual selves. Listening to Roland speak of how his depression was hidden by his successful life has made me wonder about every person I have contact with, and given me extra motivation to be more empathetic because I am now aware that depression can be a very secret battle.
2016-11-07T17:20:56+00:00

Hannah Jane Chambers

I am now aware that depression can be a very secret battle.

A. B. Curtiss, author of Depression is a Choice

I have read you book and congratulate you on writing an inspiring personal story of your victory over depression. The book is very easy to read, very supportive, and no matter how much someone may think they know about depression, anyone can learn a thing or two from your book. I did.
2016-11-07T17:10:29+00:00

A. B. Curtiss, author of Depression is a Choice

Anyone can learn a thing or two from your book.

Ken

Thanks for the text and kind words, my buddies and I enjoyed your company, thanks for playing.

I finished your book before I went to bed last night. I was impressed at how open and honest you were about your journey and your hope and desire is that the book will help other people.

I found the book to be well thought out and presented in a way that was easy to follow.

Congratulations, well done. I'm so glad that you now have peace and everyday happiness. Your sunny disposition and friendship mean a lot to me
2016-11-07T17:09:40+00:00

Ken

I found the book to be well thought out and presented in a way that was easy to follow.

Kathy McGuire

The title was intriguing and inviting, as was the cover of the book. The POP on the cover made me curious about what that could be and was a second invitation to read the book. The cover was peaceful although it did have a feeling of "spirituality" about it - sort of like a book on life after death.

The introduction to the book immediately made me like the author and want to hear his story. It was written in such a straight-forward, direct manner. And, frankly, in his first few sentences I could relate to the fact that what he had experienced in terms of depression was exactly what I have and do experience - perhaps not at the same level - but when being honest with myself, the depression and anxiety are certainly there.

I really liked the gray page with the "synopsis" statement, which started each chapter. Some of these statements could be used as affirmations or be placed around the house to remind me to do a POP. Maybe the book could contain a pocket in the back with some of these POP reminders that could be placed on mirrors, doors, counters, desks, etc. The process of doing a POP will not take place if we do not remember to do a POP.
It was an easy read, totally clear, and motivating enough that with one quick reading, I felt that I had a technique that could be used to change my thinking.
2016-11-07T17:08:44+00:00

Kathy McGuire

The introduction to the book immediately made me like the author and want to hear his story.

Jerry W. Willis

“Find Peace One POP at a Time” by Roland Griffith includes excellent insights and inspiring and motivating ideas that help focus the mind on the Present and even help with weight control. I highly recommend it. -
2016-11-07T17:07:41+00:00

Jerry W. Willis

...excellent insights and inspiring and motivating ideas

Anna

As a "testimonial," delightful, down to earth, and intimate. As a "how to/self help," straight forward, succinct, and practical. The beauty here is in the author's authenticity, and the simplicity of his process. A process that's proven to work for those willing to work it. A method of finding happiness and peace that, with a minimal amount of effort, produces great rewards. I've read this book three times and learn something new each time - I get a clearer vision of it's message, an increased expectation of the possibilities, and a reaffirmed admiration for the author's sincere desire to help others. Lastly, for those of us who like the physicality of books, this one is artistically designed and well crafted. There's a message in that. The colors correspond to the uplifting theme. And oh, did I mention Five Stars? Yes, Five Stars. Enjoy!
2015-09-04T17:04:27+00:00

Anna

I've read this book three times and learn something new each time.

Grady Harp

Kansas City author Roland Griffith was a successful business owner and entrepreneur for many years but in that time he suffered from depression. Like many heroes of the day Roland overcame his depression and founded Discovery International, a company that teaches people how to overcome depression and emotional suffering. He has helped people throughout the Kansas City area relieve their depressive symptoms and increase their productivity.

In his Introduction Roland sets the tone of the book; ‘Through years of study, I discovered that a constant flow of thoughts in the background of my mind was affecting everything in my life: how I related to others, my physical well being, my decision making, and my overall attitude. When I understood how the mind operates and developed a way to work with it, I was able to create my own moments of peace. The mind is always busy generating thoughts, whether you are aware of them or not. The thoughts can be simple and neutral— observations and comments about what’s happening at the moment; or they can be judgmental, negative, and harmful, as when they tell you how worthless you are or how hopeless your life is. We can call this constant stream of thoughts “mental chatter.” Negative mental chatter is the cause of a problematic life. Often the ongoing thoughts are preoccupied with something regrettable from the past— an event that happened earlier in your life or last week or today.’

As is outlined in the synopsis, ‘If you have tendencies toward depression—frequent moodiness and feelings that life is too hard and there’s nothing to live for—Roland wrote this book for you. His is a remarkable story, told frankly and simply. He tells about his restrictive, religious background in which he was raised, and the guilt that accompanied his expanding awareness of the world. Although he became a successful businessman and attained financial and material success, Roland was plagued by internal doubts, fears, and depression. Medicated and miserable, he began a long search for a way out of the darkness that haunted him. A failed attempt at suicide in 2000 convinced him to increase his efforts to find a way out. He discovered that his mind was constantly feeding him negative chatter, causing him distress and unhappiness. He developed a technique to turn down the volume of that chatter that enabled him—finally—to emerge from depression. He has been practicing it every day since then, and now he looks forward to waking up every morning. His life is full of hope and joy.’

As simple as his book sounds it stands on firm ground in coaching us on how to defeat depression and find those Pieces of Peace. Highly Recommended.
2015-11-15T11:03:50+00:00

Grady Harp

As simple as his book sounds it stands on firm ground I coaching us on how to defeat depression and find those Pieces of Peace. Highly Recommended.

Doug Erlandson

"Find Peace" is a short book that can be read in an hour or less but at the same time contains a wealth of helpful advice for those suffering from depression. Author Roland Griffith tells the story of how depression plagued him much of his adult life, and despite his outward success, brought about the painful dissolution of his first marriage and almost drove him to suicide. (Actually, he did attempt suicide, but it wasn't successful.) As a result of his copious research he came up with a method for counteracting depression, one that involves intentional living in the present moment rather than listening to debilitating messages about the past and the future. Learning to live in the present requires work, and the last part of the book describes how the author learned to do it and also presents a plan to help others learn to appreciate and live in the present. (Griffith calls the time spent living in the present "Pieces of Peace.") In addition to the text, the book contains a blank daily log, which can be used to track one's daily progress in learning to live in the peace of the present.

Roland Griffith's story is a testimony to how important it is to live in the serenity of the present rather than to concern ourselves with what we can't change (the past) and what is still unknown (the future). As the great twentieth-century philosopher Ludwig Wittgenstein wrote, "Eternal life belongs to those who live in the present" (Tractatus, 6.4311). Although I have never suffered from depression, as someone who has suffered from obsessive-compulsive tendencies, I can vouch for the importance of learning to live in the present if one is going to live a psychologically healthy life.
2015-10-30T11:07:05+00:00

Doug Erlandson

Solid advice on overcoming depression

Amazon Customer

This is a somewhat biased review of the book as Roland has been a good friend since high school.

I am writing this to corroborate what he has said about himself.

He was a fun kid in high school. I did not realize the extent of his pain until he told me about his marriage break up and his suicide attempt.

a short time later he called me and said he was in the hospital and I went to see him. He was vague about why he was there and I didn’t pursue an explanation.

I suspect many people go through various stages of depression including me.

I also read several books looking for answers.

One book was The Power of Now by Ekert Tolle. He sat on a park bench for 2 years trying to figure out what Roland is telling us.

I found Ekert Tollie’s book to be a little deep or esoteric for me anyway.

Roland book says pretty much the same thing in simple easy to understand and follow instructions.

This book is a quick read with a lot of wisdom. If anyone is going through this pain or has a friend that may have a problem they should read Find Peace one pop at a time. It is a quick read – maybe an hour or so.

A friend of mine said little by little you will understand. Roland’s book points out the same thing by starting with 2 seconds you will build up to minutes of peace and with practice you will learn you are in charge of your peace anytime you want it.

Like Roland, many of us bluff our way along but you don’t need to
2015-10-27T11:09:11+00:00
This book is a quick read with a lot of wisdom.

Amazon Customer

Running across Roland Griffith’s Find Peace … One POP at a Time is like finding a diamond on the beach of despair. It’s a unique and wonderful little book, giving encouragement for when you are down and tips to pull yourself back up again—and would be a thoughtful gift for a friend or loved one. Beautifully designed, yet simply worded, this one is for everyone and anyone. Try it--I promise it will give you a lift!
2015-11-22T11:11:56+00:00
Beautifully designed, yet simply worded, this one is for everyone and anyone.

Liz

Measuring in a just 5 7/8" x 6" with 136 pages plus a daily log at the end with 25 lines per page, this is an easy and relatively quick read. The page edges start off dark and progress to light as the book moves forward. With a subtitle of "Moving from anxiety and pain to joy and hope", this is written by a man who has been there, having lived with depression for many years and come out the other side.

"Negative mental chatter is the cause of a problematic life."

"The more often you elect to step out of your stream of negative thoughts, the less influence they will have on your feelings and moods.... As you turn down the volume of mental chatter, life will become easier." NO quick fix though! Be prepared for this to take time!

Your thought stream and whether you are living in the past, present or future does and can make a difference. Where are you most of the time? Take the 60 second test in Chapter 8 to find out.

Roland was a go-getter and hard worker who owned his own Ford dealership by the time he was in his early 30's. However, this does not mean that he was "living a life of ease". Guilt which he attributes to growing up in a "hellfire and damnation" home had been present from an early age but now moodiness was creeping up on him gradually, so gradually in fact that he didn't even see it. At the age of 40, arguments with his wife were increasing. Doing the sensible thing they went for marriage counseling. It was here that Roland was diagnosed with "severe depression". Having never read a book in his life (no typo here), when given one by the psychiatrist, he found he couldn't put it down. Along with the book he was 'introduced' to Prozac and 18 long years of psychiatric drugs.

Sadly in 1997 Roland's 32 year marriage fell apart, much of which he blames on the depression. Married again in 2000, one day he decided to end it all. Why did this suicide attempt not work? The breakthrough came in 2003 but only lasted about a year after which he began to feel himself slipping back. This is where Pieces of Peace (POPS) came in. Will it help change your life also?

This book is well written, not heavily technical but full of practical advice for those who are experiencing what Roland went through. Book provided in exchange for an honest review. Thanks, Liz
2015-12-15T11:13:47+00:00
This book is well written, not heavily technical but full of practical advice for those who are experiencing what Roland went through.

W. T. Hoffman

This is a nice little self help book, that talks about cognitive therapy, and meditation. (tho Griffiths doesn't call it meditation.) The book requires about 90 minutes to read, and covers a bit about Griffiths life, his study of self help books, his own talk therapy and Prozac use, finishing with his own method for overcoming depression and worry. Its called POP: Pieces of Peace. Its a method to help the consciousness stop worrying about the future, or regretting the past. (BE HERE NOW, was the famous book by 60s guru Baba Ram Dass, who was attempting to teach people the same idea.) Anyway, the idea is that when we are at peace, we are in the moment. Sure, its all been said and done before, but isnt it nice to be reminded of this from time to time? For musicians, painters, dancers, athletes, being in the moment is a commonplace occurrence. Your full attention is paid to the moment, so you transcend worry about any time but now. For those who practice meditation, you quickly find out, that making your mind empty, and being fully aware of your body's breathing, embracing the here and now, is hard work. Turning off the mind, takes practice. Griffith says that you're lucky to be able to do this for a couple of seconds, in a one minute meditation attempt. However, like anything else, you get better at it, the more you do it. Before you know it, the pieces of peace, turns into a life of peace.

The only observation I'd like to make on this book, has to do with Griffith's view on Religion. He was brought up a fire and brimstone Christian, and it ruined the truths of that religion for him. He removed himself from grace, to the point where he was blaming much of his depression on feelings of inadequacy caused by fire and brimstone sermons. For anyone who's cracked the surface of Jesus' teachings, you quickly discover how unchristian that hellfire Christianity really is. I never saw the truth, until I studied Buddhism. The truth is the truth, whether Jesus, or Buddha is talking. After the avatar leaves this plane, the chain of initiation is often broken, leaving the ideal spiritual state unrealized, by the leaders of the Church or community. So they teach from their own limited spiritual awareness, and not from the revelations of the founding prophet. Jesus told us not to worry. "Consider the lilies of the field. They neither toil nor spin, but Solomon in all his splendor, was not arrayed in as fine as clothing as them." So many things Christ taught, was about how to NOT worry. ("Let the dead bury the dead", etc.) This is so central a concept, that the basic prayer of Christ, said, "Give us this day our daily bread", leaving life worries to God, not to man's efforts. Of course, the other central concept ,was being non judgmental. That hasn't seemed to impress many Christians either, over the years. So unfortunately, its' very difficult to gain spiritual insights, thru many organized forms of Christianity today. So many of us, study eastern religions, hoping to discover a method to overcome the darkness, in our lives. I found the best method of overcoming worry and anger, firmly rooted in the practices of Christian mystics and monks. First, use the Jesus prayer, as a way to short circuit the worry of the mind. (Lord Jesus Christ, son of God, have mercy upon me, a sinner------------its based on the prayer of the blind man to Jesus, in the Gospels. Repeat it ad infinitum. Much used in Orthodox Christianity.) The other method, is meditation on the Gospels. Lectio Divina, its known as. So, when you're ready to curse someone, think back to how Jesus would respond to the same problem. And believe me, there's nothing going on in this world, that Jesus didn't seem to have to deal with. Pull together some prayer for world peace, meditation, a Jesus prayer for really tough times, meditation on Jesus' teachings, and a kind heart. That should help you beat chronic, severe depression. You'll still be sad from time to time, after all, even Christ as a "man of sorrows", and even Solomon said, "Much wisdom is much Sorrow". However, you probably wont go saving up pain medicine, in order to check out early. So, I say all this just to let you know, the culprit of people who are not helped from Christianity, isn't any lack of a viable path inside the gospels, or the history of the great saints, but rather ignorant, hateful preachers, lustful priests, and greedy TV evangelists, clouding over and obscuring the truth of Christ. If you look enough, you'll find medieval meditation guides written in Europe, great saints who found the path, and the utter truth of a good life, in the gospels. If you still cant see it, listen to Siddhartha Gautama, aka Lord Buddha, teach the same truths. Once you're eyes and heart open up, go to Jesus, to discover the completion of the teachings. Christianity is a viable path to peace. It was founded by a POP (Prince Of Peace.)

I was provided a free book for review purposes.
2015-12-08T11:38:05+00:00

W. T. Hoffman

This is a nice little self help book, that talks about cognitive therapy, and meditation.

Mary B. Lucas

An easy read. I highly recommend “Find Peace One POP at a Time” by Roland Griffith. This book is a gift. I assure you it is not just for those who battle depression but for all of us. Griffith provides ideas and insights that will help the reader live in the present and inspire a path to happiness.
2015-11-17T11:45:06+00:00

Mary B. Lucas

An easy read. I highly recommend “Find Peace One POP ...

Amazon Customer

I'm so grateful for this little book. I thought so many times as I was reading it, I would LOVE to share this with so many of my friends. It is so concise and easy to read, I can pick it up anytime I feel like I need a mood tune-up…or a dose of truth! It is simply profound. And profoundly simple.

Griffith's personal journey through the painful experience of depression caused him to develop this sound, no-nonsense practice. When I work with it, a day filled with negativity or limitation can turn into an entirely different experience...in the moment. That's TRULY where we need to be.

I will keep it on my coffee table or side table as a reminder to always know the power of POP's! :)!!
2015-11-23T11:46:23+00:00

Amazon Customer

My POP's are growing! 🙂